Crabs in a Barrel

Crabs1.jpg

IG: @JayTheMotivator
Twitter: @MotivationByJay
FaceBook: @JayTheMotivator

 

Why do we secretly feel some type of way when our friends win first? Yes we love our friends and family.  However, when they have some phenomenal news or get excited about something, on the outside we fake the funk and show happiness but inside we are jealous. We want them to shine just not too bright. 

Crabs3.jpg

The thing with having success so close is that it invalidates all the excuses that you have made for yourself of not achieving the success that you desire.  It’s easy to underachieve and not live up to your full potential when you are surrounded by others who are underachieving with you.  Yet, when one breaks rank the others clamor together to drag the dissenter back inline.  It is not only crabs in a barrel that act this way but we as people have a tendency to act this irrational as well.

I realized that only difference between them and I are the BS excuses that I tell myself.

I too have suffered from the same affliction.  Whether seeing people I am close with write books, travel to speak professionally or receive promotions.  Happiness for my comrades in their pursuit of success and yet a gnawing feeling of sadness in the pit of my stomach.  Why sadness?  Because it was at this point that I realized that only difference between them and I are the BS excuses that I tell myself.  The reality is if they could do it, I could do it and their achievement made me uncomfortable in my mediocrity.

Crabs4.jpg

The intriguing thing with life is that what we condemn flees and what we appreciate we attract.  When we feel anything but gratitude for the success of the ones we care about we are really pushing away our own success.  Be grateful for the success of those around you, for they are the ones to light up the path to your own success.

Crabs5.jpg


Thank you to all of those who have and continue to light the way for me

 

Dream BIG, Be Great

Jay The Motivator

Leave a Reply

