Misplaced Achievers

Misplaced Achievers9.jpg

 

IG: @JayTheMotivator
Twitter: @MotivationByJay

 

I get my energy from God. I’m plugged into the source. The same way when a lamp is plugged into an outlet it then has the power to brighten a dark room. Now I’m not the source of that power. It doesn’t originate from me. I am simply a tool used for a purpose.

Misplaced Achievers4.jpg

However, what if I wasn’t aware of the purpose I was designed for? What if I am a lamp but think my purpose is that of a coat hanger? I may be able to hold up one jacket.  I may even be able to struggle and hold up two jackets, yet I will feel out of place and unfulfilled. What if, even worse, I’m a lamp but am trying to fill the purpose of a toaster oven? No offense to the toaster ovens out there. Now I can try and be creative and use more energy to get hotter to toast the bread but after a while my bulb will burn out.  And there are going to be some things no matter how much energy I use I will not be able to do because I was not designed as a toaster oven.

We are all beautifully designed and wonderfully made by The Master Craftsman, yet without knowing what we were created for, knowing our purpose, it is easy and all too common to be “misplaced achievers.”

Misplaced Achievers6.jpg

 

Will Smith, described as the “most powerful actor in Hollywood” has received numerous allocates in acting, along with being deemed the most bankable worldwide star by Forbes, having 17 of 21 films earn $100 million each worldwide. Some people may be surprised to learn that Will Smith did not get his first taste of fame from acting. He first started as part of the rap group DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince back in the late 80’s. The group released 5 albums, spawning singles like “Parents just don’t understand” which won the first Grammy for a hip hop/rap song and a classic for every summer since 1992, “Summertime”.

Misplaced Achievers5.jpg

With his musical success, he was offered an opportunity to star in a sitcom on NBC, The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air. The show became a success and showed Will Smith’s acting ability, most notably the scene with James Avery after Will’s father left asking, “How come he don’t want me?” Scenes like these raised hairs and showed what could come from the rapper turned actor. After the success of the show Will Smith set the goal for himself of becoming “the biggest movie star in the world”. He soon got that chance in a movie called Bad Boys. The film became a fan favorite and was the first film Will Smith starred in to gross over $100 Million worldwide. From there he continued his string of hits with Misplaced Achievers1.jpgIndependence Day, Men in Black and Enemy of the State. He was such a box office draw that one of his most critized movies, Wild Wild West, still earned over $200 Million.  Now imagine if he had not transitioned to his purpose of acting.  As talented as he is, I doubt he would be mentioned with the likes of Biggie, Tupac or Jay-Z as the best rapper.  He went from a “misplaced achiever” to “the biggest movie star in the world”, a goal achieved.

 

We are all beautifully designed and wonderfully made by The Master Craftsman, yet without knowing what we were created for, knowing our purpose, it is easy and all too common to be “misplaced achievers.” Those capable of so much more than we are currently doing yet not living up to our potential, not because of fault in the design but rather fault in the use.


Plug into the source! Find your purpose!  Live it!

Misplaced Achievers8.jpg

 

Be Great!

Jay The Motivator

Leave a Reply

